Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m on LinkedIn – following the advise to make myself as “findable” as possible – and, in addition to the discussions in my field I keep track of the discussions in the world of recruiters. I ran across one, the other day, that I wish I’d bookmarked. The gist of it was that:

1) Recruiter “A” finds a job opening and puts it out there on the web.

2) Recruiter “B” has a candidate, so he offers to split the commission with “A”

Doesn’t sound too bad until they find that several other recruiters have also submitted the same candidate. In general, the recruiter to submits your name first is the one who gets the “split” out of the deal. But, if they all have to find you first, it becomes a mad scramble for that one job.

So, what’s the answer? Well, just advertise a bunch of bogus jobs, collect resumes, and then shoot them out as fast as you can for those few REAL jobs out there! I get it now. This is why I had about 50 alerts for jobs this morning, and only managed to find one that I haven’t already applied for. Some of these have been out there for the last three months. Recruiters trying to make money off of collecting resumes. Now I know why I see jobs advertised where I’d be a perfect fit, from recruiters that already have my resume, that aren’t calling me for that job. There is no job.

It also explains why the last few jobs I’ve found have been out of the blue – a recruiter contacts me about a position that I HAVEN’T seen advertised and asks if I’m interested. I guess if that recruiter actually did advertise the position he’d be flooded with resumes. It’s easier for him to just do his own search on the job boards and LinkedIn to find the right candidate.

It’s a Dilbert world out there.

