Tags

, , , , , ,

If you’re out of work you should set up a profile in LinkedIn. Then, of course, you build a network of all the people you know and have worked with. OK, that didn’t take too long. Next you start linking in with people you’d LIKE to know; the people who are in your profession who might be linked in to other people who’d actually HIRE you.

I’ve been working on this project off and on for a long while now. My strategy is to link in with other professionals, people in my geographic area, and as many recruiters as I can find.

I like the titles people give themselves. Seasoned veteran seems to be a popular one. Change agent is another. What I can’t understand is that it seems obvious that companies don’t want anyone who’s older than about 40. So, I’m not so sure anyone under 40 could possibly be all that seasoned, but maybe it’s the benefit of my advanced age. And change agent? I haven’t worked for a company yet that really wants to change!  They want different results but they really don’t want to change anything. Evangelist? That implies that you’ll keep selling your ideas even in the face of resistance – and that’s the last thing most senior managers want. Heck, they didn’t get to be a senior manager without a lot of ideas of their own. So, they don’t want to hear anyone telling them the king has no clothes.

I’m about ready to rewrite my profile. How does “Older work who’s been through the wars and has a pretty good idea of what won’t work. Knows more about technology than most of your other managers. Not really interested in office politics and isn’t interested in your job. Just wants to work at  your firm for the next five years or so and help you succeed” sound?

