Tags

, ,

I keep seeing LinkedIn profiles where the person says they’re results oriented. Oh brother.  I don’t have that phrase on my profile and I’m wondering if I should put something like “process oriented” on there instead.

What I’ve seen in over 30 years in my profession is that results oriented is a catch phrase for someone who will do whatever it takes to get results, and damn the fallout through the rest of the company. Now, there are times when it’s necessary to take a short cut but too much of that leads to chaos.

Seems to me that every time someone needs to take a shortcut, or break the company policies or procedures, it’s time to do a couple of things. First, find out if they really needed to do what they did. If not; if they were just using an “emergency” to cover their own lack of planning, well that takes you in one direction as a manager. The second is to take a hard look at those polices and procedures and see where they failed, and if they should be revised so that the shortcuts are no longer needed. Then, you just beat those processes to death and follow them religiously. Measure the results and, if needed, tweak them again. That’s the only way you can get consistently great results.

I guess I am a process person. I hope that logic will be recognized and I’ll get a job soon.

