My wife and I have been kicking around the idea of heading south for a while now. First it was just a joke. Then, the more we thought about it, the more it sounded like a possibility.

I didn’t push it, I just kept looking into it. But, last weekend she came right out and said what I’ve been thinking for months – let’s go ahead and push forward with moving to Panama. More than that, she immediately got our kids on the phone and told them about our plans. Of course, there’s a lot to do between now and actually leaving; and we can still change our minds. But, as of now, the wheels are in motion and the plan is to be out of the US within a year.

We’ll have to get rid of everything except what we can take with us on the plane and just a few things we’ll leave in storage here – nothing that couldn’t be brought down later in a suitcase.

So, that’s it. Next question – do I start a new blog or just keep going with this one now that I’m transitioning from “Out of work” to Retired?

